SouthernStacy

Basics

  • Location:
    MANASSAS , VIRGINIA , UNITED STATES
  • I am looking for:
    Man
  • Zip Code:
    20111
  • Age:
    37
  • Height:
    5 ft. 4 in.
  • Body:
    Few Extra Pounds
  • Ethnicity:
    White
  • Education:
    Masters Degree
  • Job:
    Self Employed
  • Has Kids:
    Yes, living with me

ABOUT

I'm a child of the 80s who grew up listening to music from the 60s and 70s. My Alabama-raised dad was a drummer, DJ, lawyer, judge, TV news reporter, and media professor before he retired last year; my mom won a Mississippi beauty pageant in 1972, and there's a picture of her in the local paper (complete with hot pants, GoGo boots, and flowing blonde hair). She went on to major in journalism and went back to school at 40 to become an elementary school teacher, because she wanted to make a difference and always said, "It's never too late unless you're dead." She's been teaching now for over 20 years (English/Social Studies). These are the people who have shaped me the most, so I thought that would give you more of an idea of me than random adjectives.

~I'm a pragmatic idealist who wants to change the world and works to do so through writing articles and making sure others' words look polished. Translation: freelance writer and proofreader who is relatively location independent (though I have a little one that keeps me in the area...see below). I'm also a poet, and would love to be a songwriter, but I can't play guitar. I need to find a musician (hint, hint).

~Music is always playing in the background of my life, and I'm often singing along. Sam Cooke, CCR, Heather Nova, Bonnie Raitt, Flogging Molly, Van Morrison, Bruce Springsteen, and a large variety of singer/songwriters from every decade. I especially love acoustic covers of rock songs with unique arrangements.

~I have the most beautiful 4-year-old son in the entire world, and I'm not saying that because people say he looks like me (sense of humor is crucial, by the way). He lives with me sometimes and has my heart all the time.

~I'm constantly investigating spirituality. I started my journey in a Unitarian Universalist (UU) church in 2003 and eventually ended up fascinated with Jesus as a person, so I went to Episcopal churches (and even seminary) to learn as much as I could. (This is a common theme with me; if I become interested in something, I research it deeply). I'm not sure about all the dogma and creeds, but I'll gladly have a conversation with you about why you believe what you do. I'm most interested in people's views' of humanity and the world. I'd most accurately describe myself as a UU Christian. I currently attend a liberal Lutheran church, but that may change after I move (Fairfax County, Alexandria, Arlington, or DC) in a few months.

~Finally, I'm excited about the invention of the wheel, because without it I wouldn't be able to get around (unless I had enough money to have people carry me on a palaquin like Cleopatra). I'm a wheelchair user with Cerebral Palsy. You can ask all the questions you like about that. I mean, first meetings are often awkward enough without adding disability-related questions. For me, my disability means I can't walk, reach things on high shelves (though I'm 5'4" standing, so that's true either way), or drive a car. At least the fact that I have a son answers whether I can have sex/kids. See? Not awkward. At all. Right?

What I am looking for

Awesome person who believes in solid friendship built over time, who knows it’s the friendship that leads to more eventually. That is all. The reality of people is usually so much more interesting than what I could come up with anyway.

However, if your blue/green eyes light up at the sight of animals/kids you see on your way to working at a job that strives to make a difference in the lives of others, and you happen to sing/play guitar/paint/draw/write on the weekends (or full-time) while enjoying classic rock and a beer/glass of wine...you need to message me ASAP, because I need to verify you exist, Dream Guy.